Videos

Through our networks and research, we have identified a suite of changemakers we will be visiting during On the Up. With only two weeks in each country, our time is limited so the list is by no means exhaustive. We’ve tried to capture a real breadth of causes and we’re looking for people and projects who are truly exceptional.

In what promises to be a quick fire way to brighten your day, we will write a short blog post about all of the projects we visit. Each post will have suggestions for how our followers can get involved. We don’t doubt that something in this list will switch you on, so prepare to be persuaded!

South Africa

Trevor Field: founder of Play Pumps (www.playpumps.co.za)

 

Shona McDonald: founder of Shonaquip (www.shonaquip.co.za)

 

Charles Maisel: founder of Innovation Shack, Men on the Side of the Road Project, Black Umbrellas, Broccoli Project, 5 in 6 Project, Shoebox Homes, Great Ideas Company, Gospel cookies, and many more (www.employmen.co.za)

 

Tim Conibear: founder of Isiqalo Foundation (www.isiqalo.org)

 

Katherine van Wyk: founder of The African Pulse (www.theafricanpulse.net)

 

Zimbabwe

Marianne Knuth: founder of Kufunda Village, Pioneers of Change, Reos Partners (www.pioneersofchange.net; www.kufunda.org; www.reospartners.com)

 

Betty Makoni: founder of The Girl Child Network (GCN); GNC World Wide (www.girlchildnetworkworldwide.org)

 

Zambia

Simon & Jane Berry: founders of Cola Life (www.colalife.org)

 

Peter Sinkamba: founder of Citizens for a Better Environment

 

Tanzania

Bart Weetjens: founder of APOPO (www.apopo.org)

 

Rakesh Rajani: founder of Haki Elimu and Twaweza (www.hakielimu.org and www.twaweza.org)

 

Paul Hicks: founder oWonder Welders, Dar es Salaam Goat Races, Molly’s Network (www.wonderwelders.org; www.goatraces.comwww.mollysnetwork.org)

No Video

 

Andy and Susie Hart: founders of Neema Crafts (www.neemacrafts.com)

 

Rwanda

Mary Kayitesi Blewitt OBE: founder of Survivors Fund (www.survivors-fund.org.uk and www.marykblewitt.com)

No Video

 

Uganda

Alexander Maclean: founder of African Prisons Project (www.africanprisons.org)

No Video

 

Laren Poole: co-founder of Invisible Children (www.invisiblechildren.com)

No Video

 

Kenya

Nick Moon: founder of Kick Start (www.kickstart.org)

 

David Kuria: founder of Ikotoilet (www.ecotact.org)

 

Erik Hersman: co-founder of Ushahidi (www.ushahidi.com)

 

South Sudan

Emmanuel Jal: founder of Gua Africa and We Want Peace (www.gua-africa.org and www.we-want-peace.com)

No Video

 

Egypt

Sherif El Ghamrawy: founder of HEMAYA and Basata (www.basata.com)

 

Raghda El-Ebrashi: founder of AYB (www.ayb-sd.org)